Easy Guide To Getting A Pennsylvania Real Estate License

Why You Need A License – 

Pennsylvania state law requires that you obtain a license if you intended to assist in the purchase, sale, rental or lease of real estate for anyone other than yourself. The license is issued by the Pennsylvania Department of State, which is supervised by the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission.

 

License Requirements –

  • Must be at least 18 years old or older
  • High School Diploma or Equivalent
  • Must Pass Criminal Background Check
    • Background checks are good for only three months. A fee will be charged, payable by major credit cards, and results are usually available within four business days. You can order, pay and learn more about background checks here.

What Courses Need To be Completed –

You must take two courses, one is called the Real Estate Practice, which is 45 hours long; the other, Real Estate Fundamentals, is 30 hours long. You can start with either course, but you must complete both. You must complete both tests and pass both with 70 or higher. You will receive a transcript upon completion.

What You Will Learn In the Course –

1. Real Estate Practice

In Real Estate Practice, you’ll learn about:

  • Real Estate Brokerage
  • Relationships with Clients
    • Serving Sellers and Buyers
      • Real Estate Financing Principles
      • Mortgage Loan Characteristics
      • Settlement Procedures
      • Federal Taxation and Investing
      • Property Management
      • Appraising

2. Real Estate Fundamentals

In Real Estate Fundamentals, you’ll learn about:

  • Real Estate Legal Descriptions 
  • Real Estate Property Rights and Estates 
  • Real Estate Ownership
  • Real Estate Conveyancing and Recording
  • Real Estate Contracts
  • Real Estate Land Use and Development
  • Pennsylvania Licensing and Registration Act
  • Commission’s Rules and Regulations 

Education’s Complete, Now What?

  • Finish both courses, pass both course tests
  • Use the transcript and designated form to apply for and take the state licensing exam
    • The exam is offered only at approved centers
    • The exam costs $49 every time you take it.
    • It consists of 120 questions 
    • You have 3 hours to complete the exam
    • You must pass with a score of 75 or higher
    • You’ll learn immediately at the testing center if you passed, or if you need to re-take the exam
    • If you passed, you will receive a receipt, keep this to claim your license
  • You must pass a criminal background check 
  • You must hold a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • You must be affiliated with a real estate broker in PA who will serve as your legal supervisor 
    • You’ll interview with brokers as you would for any other career
      • Be sure to be comfortable with the broker you choose

 

The state will mail your license to your broker and you can begin to operate as a licensed real estate agent.